Pentatonix Information

Scott Hoying, Kirstie Maldonado, Mitch Grassi, Avi Kaplan and Kevin Olusola all make up this a cappella group from Arlington, Texas. Pentatonix got their start by winning the third season of "The Sing-Off" in November of 2011 on NBC. They won $200,000 and a recording contract with Sony.

The founding members of the group met in high school and arranged a trio to enter a competition to meet the cast of "Glee." They did not win this competition but their YouTube video entry sparked attention around their school and they began performing. In 2011 they successfully auditioned for the show "The Sing-Off" and eventually went on to win the title. Pentatonix is named after the pentatonic scale with five notes per octave. Their main musical influences stem from electro, reggae, hip-hop, dubstep and pop.

After winning the competition, all of the members relocated to Los Angeles to pursue a career as recording artists. Their goal is to become the first mainstream a cappella group and it doesn't seem too far off. They have been releasing popular songs on YouTube that are gaining a great deal of attention. Their first EP, "PTX Vol. 1" was released in June of 2012 and went to No. 14 on the US Billboard 200. Their second EP, "PTXmas," is a holiday album and was released November 13, 2012.