Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Ottawa Senators Information

The Ottawa Senators are a professional ice hockey team from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The team entered the NHL in 1992 as an expansion team. They are one of only six remaining Canadian teams in the NHL. In their short history they have no Stanley Cups but have won their division four times.

In 2007, the Senators made it all the way to the Stanley Cup finals, but came up short against the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim in five games. They advanced to the post-season again in 2008, but lost to the Pittsburg Penguins 4-0. They were unable to post a record over .500 in 2009, resulting in their season ending early without any playoff opportunities.

2010 was another tough year for the Senators and they failed the make the playoffs. They started the 2011-2012 season with a new coach in Paul MacLean and a new jersey. As the season began the team was predicted to finish at or near the bottom of the NHL standings. They ended up as the eighth seed in the Eastern Conference but ultimately lost the series in seven games.

Image by Flickr user C.P.Storm