Wed Jan 1

Orange Bowl Information

The Orange Bowl is a division 1 NCAA post-season college football game that has been running since 1935. The game serves as host to the ACC champion, unless the particular team is invited to play at the BCS championship game. In 2009 the ACC Champion Virginia Tech Hokies defeated the Big East Champion Cincinnati Bearcats 20-7.

The event currently takes place at LandShark Stadium (home of the NFL’s Miami Dolphins). Previous locations include Miami Gardens and Miami Orange Bowl. Before the BCS National Championship Game was created as its own event, the Orange Bowl was the host of the National finals in 2001 and 2005.