Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates
Tue Feb 18
Wed Feb 19

Opeth Information

Swedish heavy metal band, Opeth, consists of current members, Mikael Akerfedlt, Martin Mendez, Martin Axenrot, Fredrik Akesson, and Joakim Svalberg. They got their start in 1990 and have ten studio albums, three live albums, three video albums, and two box sets. Their past three albums, 2005’s Ghost Reveries, 2008’s Watershed, and 2011’s Heritage have reached the US Billboard 200 chart at #9, #7, and #4 respectively.

David Isberg formed the band in Stockholm, Sweden with Akerfedlt. In 1994, they signed with Candlelight Records and released their debut album, Orchid in 1995. The label Century Media Records signed them in 1997 and released their first two albums in the U.S. Throughout the late 90’s and 00’s, the band performed a few live dates and went through a series of different members.

With the release of their album, Blackwater Park, in 2001, the band headed out on their first world tour. Ghost Reveries helped garner the band more attention in the U.S., but it was Watershed that truly gave them international success. In April 2010, they performed at London’s Royal Albert Hall.

Their latest album, Heritage, came out in 2011 and toured in support of the album in 2012. They announced a joint spring tour with Mastodon that will take them across North America. The tour kicks off April 4 in Portland, ME.