Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

New York Knicks Information

The New York Knicks are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. Along with the Boston Celtics, they are one of the only two teams that are original members of the NBA in their original city. Named after the Dutch settlers that landed in New York in the 1600's, the Knickerbockers played their first game on November 1, 1946 against the Toronto Huskies where the Knicks barely won with the 68-66.

Early off, the Kicks were successful and constant playoff contenders. The team made three consecutive appearances in the NBA Finals beginning in 1950 but unfortunately lost each one. The team faltered until the late 19060s when Red Holzman became head coach. Holzman led the Knicks to win two NBA Championships in the early 1970's with Hall of Fame players Willis Reed, Walt Frazier, Earl Monroe, and Bill Bradley. New York struggled for years after the team's "Golden Age" until all star center Patrick Ewing came along in the 1990s.

In the 1990s, Ewing led the team into an intense rivalry with the Miami Heat. They were under coach Pat Riley until 1995 then Jeff Van Gundy came in to take the job. This decade's successes were highlighted in the NBA Finals appearances in 1994 and 1999. They continued to be defeated, however, by Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls so the Knicks never acquired an NBA Championship during this time.

The organization hasn't advanced to post-season play since 2004 when they were swept by the New Jersey Nets in the first round. They finished 5th in the Atlantic division at the end of the 2009 season with a 32-50 record.

After another mediocre campaign in 2010, the Knicks came in second in their division behind the Celtics and clinched a playoff spot. They were eliminated in the first round by the Celtics in a four game sweep. The Knicks finished the 2011-12 regular season with a 36-30 record and a seventh place in the Eastern Conference. They lost in the first round against the Miami Heat in five games.

This season they hope to make it again to the playoffs and put up a bigger fight. Their roster includes Carmelo Anthony, Oscar Bellfield, Ronnie Brewer, Marcus Camby, Tyson Chandler, Chris Copeland, Raymond Felton, Jason Kidd, Steve Novak, Pablo Prigioni, Iman Shumpert, John Shurna, Henry Sims, Chris Smith, J.R. Smith, Amar'e Stoudemire, Kurt Thomas, Mychel Thompson, Rasheed Wallace and James White.