Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

New Orleans Pelicans Information

The New Orleans Pelicans (formerly the Hornets) are members of the Southwest Division of the Western Conference. They began play during the 1988 as the Charlotte Hornets in Charlotte, North Carolina. They were there for fourteen seasons before moving to New Orleans to become the New Orleans Hornets in 2003. They relocated to Oklahoma City for two seasons after Hurricane Katrina but returned full-time in 2007 and have been there ever since. Since their origination, the Hornets have acquired an overall record of 934-986 and have qualified for the post-season just twelve times. They have five playoff series titles but have only one division title from 2008.

At the end of the 2011-12 season, the Hornets had a record of 21-45 which was the worst in the Western Conference. In the 2012 NBA Draft the team added Anthony Davis and Austin Rivers to the roster. The rest of the line-up includes Solomon Alabi, Al-Faroug Aminu, Ryan Anderson, Eric Gordon, Xavier Henry, Robin Lopez, Roger Mason Jr., Darius Miller, Brian Roberts, Jason Smith, Lance Thomas, Greivis Vasquez, Hakim Warrick and Chris Wright.