Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Minnesota Twins Information

The Twins were originally established in 1901 as the Washington Nationals/Senators. They moved to Minnesota in 1961 and became the Twins. The Minnesota Twins play in the American League Central Division. As a franchise the Twins have won three World Series titles, the last in 1991. They've earned the AL Central Division five times since 2002.

In 2008, the Twins finished with a 88-75 record after losing a one-game playoff to the Chicago White Sox and in 2009, the club won 17 of their last 21 games to tie the Detroit Tigers for the Division lead, resulting in another one-game showdown. This time around the Twins were able to claim victory and reach the playoffs. Despite the crucial win, their post-season dreams ended early after losing three straight games in the ALDS to the eventual World Champion New York Yankees.

Minnesota will have a lot to look forward to in the years to come. They locked down franchise player Joe Mauer to an eight-year $184 million deal. In 2009, Mauer became the second catcher in 33 years to win the AL MVP award.

In 2010, the Twins kicked off the season in their new field, Target Field. They came in first in the division with a 94-68 record, but lost to the Yankees again in the ALDS.

2011 was not a great season for the Twins as they placed last in the division at 63-99. It was an injury plagued season with team leaders Joe Mauer and Justin Morneau not at their healthiest.

The Twins are looking ahead to the 2012 season and hope to improve their record and return to first place in the division.