Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Milwaukee Brewers Information

After much controversy about bringing a team to Milwaukee, the Seattle Pilots relocated to Wisconsin in 1969 and became known as the Milwaukee Brewers. In 1974, the Brewers executed a trade that brought all-time great Hank Aaron back to Milwaukee. It was not until 1978, however, that the Brewers would have a winning season.

In the early 1980's, Milwaukee reached its high point. In 1981, the Brewers played in their first playoff series, only to lose to the Yankees. The team's outstanding offensive production in the 1982 season earned them the nickname of Harvey's Wallbangers; the team went on to win the American League pennant. During the 1980's, Rollie Fingers won the MVP award and Cy Young award (1981); additionally, Robin Yount won the MVP award in 1982 and 1989. Highlights of the 1987 season included Juan Nieves' no-hitter, the only one recorded in franchise history.

As baseball underwent expansion, the Brewers were transferred from the AL East to the AL Central in 1994. In 1998, the Brewers were once again transferred, this time to the National League, to facilitate interleague play. Miller Park was opened in 2001, set to replace Milwaukee County Stadium. In an attempt to restructure the team, the Brewers traded star outfielder Carlos Lee to Texas for Kevin Mench, Francisco Cordero, and Laynce Nix in 2006.

In 2008, the Brew Crew returned to the playoffs for the first time since 1982 after clinching the NL Wild Card with a 90-72 record. They were matched up against the Philadelphia Phillies and lost in a four game NLDS battle. 2009 featured a number of changes with thirteen players up for new contracts. CC Sabathia signed with the New York Yankees, Russell Branyan agreed to a deal with the Mariners, and Derrick Turnbow signed with the Texas Rangers. The shake up resulted in a mediocre 80-82 regular season campaign to place them behind the Cardinals and Cubs in the Division standings.

2010 was a rough year for the Brewers, finishing the season at 77-85 and third in the division. In the 2011 off-season, the Brewers acquired to strong starting pitchers, Shaun Marcum from the Blue Jays and Zack Greinke from the Royals. The moves catapulted the Brewers to an excellent season where they placed first with a 96-66 record. After beating the Diamondbacks in the NLDS, they lost to the World Series’ Champion St. Louis Cardinals in the NLCS.

2012 will mark the first year without star first baseman, Prince Fielder, but the Brewers are confident that their young team will remain competitive in the NL Central.