Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates
Wed Sep 17

Chicago Blackhawks Information

The Chicago Blackhaws are members of the Central Division of the Western Conference. They are one of the Original Six NHL teams, along with the Detroit Red Wings, Toronto Maple Leafs, Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, and Montreal Canadiens. They were founded in 1926 out of Chicago, Illinois and have since acquired fourteen Division championships, two Conference championships and four Stanley Cups. The team spent their first 65 years playing at Chicago Stadium but their home games have been played at the United Center since 1994.

The Blackhawks first two Stanley Cups were won in 1934 and 1938. The team then did not win a Cup or anything less until 1960. The 1970-90s brought success to the Blackhawks as they acquired eleven of their fourteen Division championships. The turn of the century brought a drought for the Blackhawks but in the 2009-10 season, things began to change. The team made the playoffs with a regular season record of 52-22-8. They went on to defeat the Nashville Predators, the Canucks, and the San Jose Sharks. They continued to defeat the Philadelphia Flyers in the Stanley Cup Finals to acquire their first Cup win since 1961.

Last season, the Blackhawks made the playoffs for the 4th consecutive season and faced the Phoenix Coyotes in the opening round. Unfortunately the Coyotes defeated the team but this year the Blackhawks hope to come back stronger than before.