Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates
Fri Mar 28

Atlanta Hawks Information

The Atlanta Hawks are members of the Southeast Division of the Eastern Conference. They were established in 1946 as the Buffalo Bisons, then became the Tri-City Blackhawks before finally changing it to the Hawks. They won their only NBA Championship title in 1958 when they were based out of St. Louis, Missouri. The Hawks moved to Atlanta, Georgia in 1968 and have been there ever since.

Just behind the Sacramento Kings, the Hawks hold the title for the 2nd longest run of not winning an NBA title at a whopping 54 years. They have not even had a NBA Finals appearance since their time residing in St. Louis. They have not advanced beyond the second round of the playoffs the entire time they have been in Atlanta (44 seasons). They have always had poor history in the NBA Draft. They have drafted just three players ever chosen to play in an All-Star game (Kevin Willis, Al Horford and Doc Rivers). In their entire history, the Hawks have acquired 4 Division titles, 4 Conference titles and a single Championship.

In the 2011-12 season, the Hawks finished with the third best record in the Eastern Conference and clinched the playoffs for the fifth straight season. They were eliminated in the first round, however, by the Boston Celtics. This past June the Hawks hired Danny Ferry, San Antonio Spurs Vice President of Basketball Operations, as President of Basketball Operations and General Manager. Their current roster includes James Anderson, Devin Harris, Al Horford, Damion James, John Jenkins, Carldell Johnson, Ivan Johnson, Kyle Korver, Anthony Morrow, Ismail Muhammed, Zaza Pachulia, Johan Petro, Mike Scott, Josh Smith, DeShawn Stevenson, Jeff Teague, Anthony Tolliver and Louis Williams. Hopefully with Danny Ferry and a few roster changes the Hawks can pull through this season.